Odisha gets average rainfall at par with Long Term Average in July

Odisha got average rainfall of 340.1 mm against the long term average (LTA) of 339.9 mm. As per the information of Special Relief Commissioner office, Kalahandi district received the highest rainfall of 510.6 mm during the month whereas Nuapada district received the lowest rainfall of 170.9 mm.

The cumulative rainfall of the State in June and July, 2017 remained 548.5 mm against the LTA of 556.4 mm registering a marginal shortfall of 1.4%. As many as 5 districts namely Ganjam, Rayagada, Kalahandi, Gajapati & Nawarangpur received surplus rainfall more than 19%.

20 districts which received normal rainfall (+ 19% to – 19%) are Sundargarh, Malkangiri, Khordha, Jharsuguda, Koraput, Deogarh, Jagatsinghpur, Sambalpur, Puri, Cuttack, Subarnapur, Boudh, Kendrapara, Mayurbhanj, Nayagarh, Balasore, Bhadrak, Bargarh, Keonjhar and Kandhamal.

Rainfall in 4 districts namely, Bolangir, Nuapada, Angul and Jajpur remained deficit between 19% & 39% during the period from 1st June, 2017 to 31st July, 2017.

Dhenkanal is the only district where rainfall remained severe deficit (- 40.8%).

On an average, the State experiences 15.4 rainy days in the month of July. There were 15.6 rainy days during July this year. In June 2017, there were 10 rainy days against the normal average of 9.9.days.

Click to comment

Latest Odisha News is an Odisha based English News portal. It provides latest information on happenings of state.

Copyright © 2018 All rights reserved to Latest Odisha News.

To Top